Breeders' Cup ChallengeChurchill Downs will host a special one-day Arlington Million Day program thanks to cooperation from Ellis Park, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, and Kentucky horsemen. Overall, Churchill Downs will host eleven thoroughbred races with two dirt stakes races and two turf stakes races including the Arlington Million (GI) and the Beverly D. (GI), a Breeders' Cup Challenge Race.

Arlington Million Handicapping Contest

A one-day handicapping contest that will award players large prize money along with seats to the Breeders' Cup Betting Challenge will be staged on Saturday, Aug. 13 for the special Arlington Million Day at Churchill Downs. The live-money contest will take place on-site at Churchill Downs and have a $2,500 entry fee with $2,000 to be used as the player's bankroll. The other $500 will go to the prize pool. In the contest, each contestant must wager at least $2,000, and a minimum of $500 must be bet on at least two races during the Churchill Downs card. Contestants may wager any amount in Win, Place, Show, Exacta, Trifecta or Daily Double pools. At the end of the card, contestants will keep all winnings.

Estimated Contest Prize Money (based on 50 entries):

  • First Place: fully paid entry into the 2022 Breeders' Cup Betting Challenge ($10,000 value) and $2,000 cash voucher
  • Second Place: fully paid entry into the 2022 Breeders' Cup Betting Challenge ($10,000 value) and $1,000 cash voucher
  • Third Place: $2,000 cash voucher

Interested players can email Gary Palmisano [email protected] to enter or for more information.

Arlington Million Day Stakes Lineup

Arlington Million

  • Began in 1981
  • The first Arlington Million was won by the horse John Henry and Bill Shoemaker for trainer Ronald L. McAnally on August 30th, 1981
  • John Henry, the 1980 male turf horse of the year, is the only two time winner of the race

The Beverly D. Stakes

Grade 1 race where the winner will qualify for the Breeders' Cup Filly and Mare Turf

  • First run on August 15, 1987
  • The race is named for Beverly D. Duchossois, whose husband, Richard Duchossois, served as the chairman of Arlington Park since 1983
  • Six Beverly D winners have gone on to be voted the Eclipse Award for turf female

For groups of 24+, please contact group sales at 502-636-4450 or fill out our Group Request Form

* Pricing is subject to change, is based on availability, and only includes the initial dining rooms listed as available for the given race day.