Trainer Steve Asmussen will be gunning for back-to-back victories in Churchill Downs’ $150,000-added Bashford Manor Stakes (Grade III) when he sends out two of the eight horses entered in Saturday’s 107th running of the six-furlong test for 2-year-olds on the main track.

Representing the Asmussen stable in the Bashford Manor will be Padua Stables’ Segal, who will be ridden by Shaun Bridgmohan and breaks from post position five, and J. Kirk Robison’s Lyin’ Heart, who will have Corey Lanerie in the saddle and will start from post seven.

Asmussen teamed with Lanerie to win last year’s Bashford Manor with Vinery Stables’ Kodiak Kowboy, who would eventually be named Canada’s 2-year-old champion and would finish third to Eclipse Award champion War Pass and Asmussen-trained stablemate Pyro in the Bessemer Trust Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (GI) at Monmouth Park. Asmussen had earlier won the Bashford Manor in 2004 with Heiligbrodt Racing Stable’s Lunarpal and endured near-misses in the race with eventual Grade I winner Cuvee, a troubled third in 2003, and future Grade II winner Posse, the runner-up in 2002.

Lyin’ Heart, a son of 2004 Kentucky Derby runner-up Lion Heart, is the only multiple winner in the field. Lyin’ Heart broke his maiden at Lone Star Park going five furlongs on May 23 and followed up that score 15 days later by winning the Texas Thoroughbred Association Sales Futurity at Lone Star. Segal broke his maiden at first asking on May 7 at Churchill Downs going 4 ½ furlongs. He followed that victory with a third-place finish in the Victoria Stakes over Woodbine’s Polytrack surface on June 15.

A victory by Segal would give Padua Stable sole possession of the record for Bashford Manor wins by an owner. Padua took three consecutive Bashford Manor runnings from 1998-2000 with Time Bandit, Dance Master and Duality to tie Milky Way Farm (1936, ’37 and ’41) and T. Alie Grissom (1957, ’61 and ’69) for that record.

The field for the 107th Bashford Manor, from the rail out, is as follows: William Carl’s Screen Your Friend (Calvin Borel, 118 pounds); Kevin Chessen and Wesley Ward’s Silver Bayer (Jesus Castanon, 118); Samotowka Stables and Magdalena Racing’s Theregoesjojo (Robby Albarado, 118); Richard Ravin and Larry Rivelli’s My Dominick James (Tim Thornton, 118); Segal (Shaun Bridgmohan, 118); Thomas McCarthy’s General Quarters (Bill Troilo, 116); Lyin’ Heart (Corey Lanerie, 120); and, Paul Giacopelli and Donnie Kelly’s Medaglia D’Onore (Mick Ruis, 118).

Sign up for race updates, wagering tips, and inside news
Privacy Policy
Thank you to our sponsor