Tamaroak Partners’ homebred Bango will attempt to score his seventh victory beneath the historic Twin Spires in Saturday night’s first running of the $275,000 Louisville Thoroughbred Society at Churchill Downs.

The Louisville Thoroughbred Society, named for the downtown Louisville-based private club that opened its doors in March, was carded as Race 7 at 9:05 p.m. The first of 11 races will begin at 6 p.m. The night program, dubbed as Downs After Dark presented by Budweiser, also features the $300,000 Iroquois (GIII), $300,000 Pocahontas (GIII), $400,000 Locust Grove (GIII) and the $300,000 Open Mind.

Trained by Greg Foley, Bango has recorded six of his eight lifetime scores at Churchill Downs. Bango will enter Saturday’s six-furlong affair following three-consecutive victories in the $150,000 Aristides, $110,000 Kelly’s Landing and $75,000 Good Lord. Jockey Tyler Gaffalione, who was aboard Bango for his narrow victory in the Kelly’s Landing, has the call from post No. 5.

Another accomplished sprinter that will enter the Louisville Thoroughbred Society with a three-race win streak is Griffon Farms and trainer Michelle Lovell’s homebred Just Might. The seven-time winning son of Justin Phillip spent the summer at Colonial Downs in Virginia where he was victorious in the $100,000 Da Hoss Stakes on turf and $100,000 Chesapeake Stakes on dirt. His last victory at Churchill Downs came in June when he defeated six rivals in the $110,000 Mighty Beau at 5 ½ furlongs on turf.

Just Might’s regular jockey Colby Hernandez is riding Saturday at Woodbine so Rafael Bejarano retained the mount from post 3.

The full field for the Louisville Thoroughbred Society from the rail out (with jockey and trainer): Dennis’ Moment (Corey Lanerie, Dale Romans); Endorsed (Julien Leparoux, Mike Maker); Just Might (Bejarano, Lovell); Derby Date (Adam Beschizza, Jack Sisterson); Bango (Gaffalione, Foley); and Mighty Mischief (Ricardo Santana Jr., Steve Asmussen).

Sign up for race updates, wagering tips, and inside news
Privacy Policy
Thank you to our sponsor