Churchill Downs Debut Winners Glacial, Lansdowne, Red Run Top Field of 11 in Grade III $150,000 Bashford Manor

Jun 23, 2021 Kevin Kerstein,Churchill Downs Communications

Robert Masterson’s 2 ½-length debut winner Glacial along with Winchell Thoroughbreds’ 1 ¾-length victor Red Run and Willis Horton Racing’s 1 ½-length first-out winner Lansdowne top a field of 11 2-year-olds that was entered in Saturday’s 120th running of the $150,000 Bashford Manor (Grade III) at Churchill Downs.

The six-furlong Bashford Manor was made Race 9 with a post time of 4:55 p.m. (all times Eastern). The 12-race card has a first post of 12:45 p.m. The Bashford Manor is one of seven stakes on closing day of the 38-day Spring Meet. The other stakes are the $600,000 Stephen Foster (GII), $300,000 Fleur de Lis (GII), $300,000 Wise Dan (GII), $150,000 Debutante (Listed), $150,000 Tepin and $150,000 War Chant.

Glacial, trained by Norm Casse, won his first-career start under jockey Joe Talamo. The son of Frosted completed 5 ½ furlongs in 1:04.99 and earned an 80 Brisnet Speed Rating. The gray colt will break from post No. 4 under Talamo.

Five posts to the outside of Glacial is Red Run. Trained by record six-time Bashford Manor winner Steve Asmussen, the homebred rallied from three lengths off the early pace in his debut win over the sloppy surface at Churchill Downs at odds of 3-5 under jockey Ricardo Santana Jr. Red Run is by the former Asmussen-trained champion Gun Runner. Santana will have the return call for Saturday’s Bashford Manor.

Lansdowne was a minor 5-1 upset winner in his debut for trainer Dallas Stewart. The Super Saver colt recorded a front-running score in a five-furlong maiden special weight contest on May 22. Veteran jockey Jon Court will have the mount from post 2.

The complete field for the Bashford Manor from the rail out (with jockey and trainer): Vodka N Water (Jose Ortiz, Asmussen); Landsdowne (Court, Stewart); Tapped Off (Drayden Van Dyke, Darrin Williams); Glacial (Talamo, Casse); Whatstheconnection (Marcelino Pedroza, John Ennis); Knocker Down (Cindy Murphy, Travis Murphy); Whislewhileyoumow (Gabriel Saez, Jon Arnett); Double Thunder (John Velazquez, Todd Pletcher); Red Run (Santana, Asmussen); Rising Outlaw (Rafael Bejarano, Jimmy Chapman); Shesgotattitude (James Graham, Ennis).

  • Ticket Info

    Sign up for race updates and more


Thank You To Our Sponsors


Missed something? Catch up on past Churchill Downs news