Yankee Fourtune Looks to Protect Perfect Record on Grass in Commonwealth Turf

Nov 11, 2010 Gary Yunt

Harvey Clark and Andrew Albstein’s Yankee Fourtune, undefeated in four starts on the grass in his career,  headlines a field of 13 3-year-olds entered Wednesday for Saturday’s seventh running of the $100,000-added Commonwealth Turf (Grade III) at Churchill Downs.

The Commonwealth Turf will go as the ninth race Saturday with a scheduled post time of 4:37 p.m. (all times Eastern). Saturday’s 10-race program begins at 12:40 p.m.

Trained by Kiaran McLaughlin, Yankee Fourtune enters the Commonwealth Turf off a wire-to-wire, 2 ¼-length victory in the Hawthorne Derby (GIII) on Oct. 9. Victor Santiago, who has been aboard Yankee Fourtune in his four victories, has the call Saturday. Yankee Fourtune will break from post position 11 and carry high weight of 123 pounds.

Also toting 123 pounds is F. Thomas Conway’s Uareoutlaw (BRZ), trained by Mike Maker. A winner of three of five starts on the turf including Group I and II victories in Brazil, Uareoutlaw ran sixth in the Indiana Derby (GII) on dirt in his U.S. debut last month. Miguel Mena will ride Uareoutlaw, who will break from post position one.

Another horse who has found a home on the grass is Four D Stable’s Turallure, who has won his past three starts on the turf since August. Included in that streak is a victory in the Cliff Guilliams Handicap at Ellis Park in which Turallure beat the veteran millionaire Brass Hat.

Trained by Charles Lopresti, Turallure will be ridden on Saturday by Robby Albarado and break from post position eight under 121 pounds.

The field for the Commonwealth Turf, from the inside, is as follows: Uareoutlaw (BRZ) (Mena, 123 pounds), Celtic New Year (Rosemary Homeister Jr., 119), Dark Cove (Jamie Theriot, 119), Guys Reward (Corey Lanerie, 117), Lighthouse Sound (Calvin Borel, 119), Stormy Lord (Jesus Castanon, 121), Mister Marti Gras (Shaun Bridgmohan, 121), Turallure (Albarado, 121), Mystic (Kent Desormeaux, 119), Thunder Brew (Victor Lebron, 121), Yankee Fourtune (Santiago, 123), Don Cavallo (Luis Contreras, 117), Beau Choix (Julien Leparoux, 121).

  • Ticket Info

    Sign up for race updates and more


Thank You To Our Sponsors


Missed something? Catch up on past Churchill Downs news